Insane Results

Ok if you have been following my blog then you know that 1. I’ve been a slacker lately on here 2. I’m trying to lose the weight I gained during pregnancy 3. I’ve been doing the Insanity Workouts. Many of you have messaged me about the program asking if it is worth it, etc. I just completed the 60 day program and must say that I was quite pleased with my results. If you are looking for a workout that challenges you, this is definitely the program for you.

I was in pretty decent shape when I started the program. I was still trying to lose a lot of weight I gained during pregnancy, but I was active during my pregnancy and ran a lot afterwards. Thankfully, I may not have looked like I wanted to, but I was physically fit enough to do the program. From what I’ve observed, if you have never worked out in your life-this is not the program for you right now. Try something like Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred or Fat Boost Metabolism. Those programs are awesome and will get you in the cardiovascular shape you need for something like Insanity. Also try running 2-3 miles a day with some weight training, both of these will help you get in the shape you need to try something like Insanity. You can do it, but if you want to be successful in this program…start with some attainable goals and then try it. I’m not saying you need be in perfect shape, because I sure wasn’t BUT you need to be in enough physical shape to stick with it. Hope that makes sense 🙂

Definitely do the fit test at the beginning of the program and during the program. I did it 3 times. I had massive improvement, however, I didn’t follow my own advice and totally skipped doing the fit test at day 50. Hopefully I will be try it in the next couple of days and will let you know my complete results. If you are curious on whether or not you are fit enough for this program, take the fit test…if you totally can’t stick with it then you know you need to find another workout for the time being. Don’t get discouraged, try it again in a few weeks. You CAN  do it.

Insanity is expensive. Many people don’t want to invest their money into a workout DVD. I say if you are unsure, borrow it from a friend…see if you can stick with it before you buy. I was very blessed to be able to get it from a friend for free. So don’t be afraid to ask around, Insanity is one of those workouts that a bunch of people bought right away and therefore a lot of people are willing to sell or let you borrow it. I do believe in the program though and if you are in the shape you need to be to do this, buy it. It is SO worth it! Think you could spend that much at the gym for a year or you could buy Insanity and get results in 60 days.

Insanity comes with a Nutrition Plan. I will be honest and tell you that I did not stick to this plan all the time; however, I learned a lot from it and determined my meals accordingly. It suggests that you eat 5 small meals a day each about 300 calories. As a stay at home mom, this was actually doable for me. I just didn’t make the exact meals in the booklet. Protein bars were a lifesaver for quick meals when I was chasing my little guy around. Try it, but know that you don’t have to follow it completely to see results. Nutrition is key to weight loss though, so choose healthy meals and you will see vast improvement.

Bottom line…

Things I love about Insanity:

  • quick results
  • Shawn T- not annoying, extremely motivating trainer
  • High Intensity Interval Training- burns fat fast
  • focuses on stretching
  • wonderful nutrition plan

Ok…so I’m not exactly where I want to be yet. I am going to do the program one more time and then hopefully I can go back to just running intervals and weight training.

Total weight loss as a result of Insanity: 10 lbs (only 2 away from pre-pregnancy weight…12 away from goal weight)

Total inches lost as a result of Insanity: 14.5 inches (-1.5 chest, -1 right arm, -1 left arm, -3 waist, -3 hips, -2.5 right thigh, -2.5 left thigh)

Overall: I feel better, I actually fit into ALL of my pre-pregnancy jeans, and I feel stronger. I love this program and definitely would recommend giving it try!

